Art Saint Louis XXVII, The Exhibition

October 29 through December 30, 2011

Our 27th annual all media, all styles, all techniques, and all themes exhibit was open to artists 21+ residing in St. Louis and the surrounding 200-mile radius. From 500 artworks submitted by 122 St. Louis regional artists, Juror Andrew Stein Raftery selected 70 artworks in all media by 66 artists from Missouri and Illinois.

Graphic Design by David LancasterGraphic Design by David Lancaster

JurorAndrew Stein Raftery is currently a Professor in the Department of Printmaking at Rhode Island School of Design, where he has taught since 2001. He has lectured widely throughout the U.S., including at Wellesley College, New York University, Yale University Art Gallery, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, The Print Club of New York, and Carnegie Mellon University. He holds a Master of Fine Arts degree from the Yale University School of Art (1990) and a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from the Boston University College of Fine Arts (1984). Raftery is the recipient of the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship (2008), Boston University Distinguished Alumni Award (2007) and Louis Comfort Tiffany Award (2003).

A printmaker specializing in narrative engravings of contemporary American life, Raftery’s work has been featured in solo & group exhibitions across the United States and is in permanent collections including the Cleveland Museum of Art, Corcoran Gallery of Art, Davis Museum at Wellesley College, the Fogg Art Museum at Harvard University, Frye Art Museum, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Minneapolis Institute of Art, National Gallery of Art, New York Public Library, Princeton University Art Museum, the Smithsonian American Art Museum, and the Whitney Museum of American Art. His work is represented by Mary Ryan Gallery, New York.


The artists whose works were selected for this year's exhibit are:

J’Ann Schoonmaker Allen, St. Louis, MO 
Andrew Andrasko, St. Louis, MO 
Michael J. Anthony, St. Louis, MO 
Maria N. Boehm, Hillsboro, MO 
Robert Boettcher, St. Louis, MO 
Carol Corey, University City, MO            Award of Excellence
Debbie Corson, Kirkwood, MO 
Cathie Crawford, Peoria, IL 
Andrew Dobson, Alton, IL 
William D’Sousa, St. Louis, MO          Award of Excellence 
Tim Eberhardt, St. Louis, MO 
Suzy Farren, Webster Groves, MO 
Wm. Daniel File, Manchester, MO 
Dominic Finocchio, St. Louis, MO 
Carol Fleming, Ladue, MO 
M.J. Goerke, St. Louis, MO 
Daniel Greenberg, University City, MO 
SJ Hammack, Kirkwood, MO 
Donna Hasegawa, St. Louis, MO 
Jennifer Hayes, Rock Hill, MO 
Maurice Hirsch, Chesterfield, MO 
Cary Horton, Shrewsbury, MO 
Jim Hutsler, Caseyville, IL 
Beth Jatcko, Webster Groves, MO 
Sheldon Johnson, University City, MO 
Emily Mae Keefauver, St. Louis, MO 
Greg Kluempers, Florissant, MO 
Zach Koch, Troy, IL 
Ruth Kolker, Creve Coeur, MO 
Terry Lay, St. Louis, MO 
Micah Liesenfeld, St. Louis, MO 
Phyllis MacLaren, Ballwin, MO 
Darnell Malone, Edwardsville, IL 
Marie Bannerot McInerney, St. Louis, MO          Award of Excellence 
Jocelyn Meyer, Kirksville, MO 
Mike Miller, Springfield, IL          Award of Excellence 
Dennis Minner, St. Louis, MO 
Kitty Mollman, Ladue, MO 
Bonnie Murray, St. Louis, MO 
Louis Nahlik, Chesterfield, MO 
Marion Noll, Webster Groves, MO 
Pat Owoc, St. Louis, MO 
Fabrizio Passanisi, St. Louis, MO 
Davide Prete, St. Louis, MO 
Megan Rieke, Kirkwood, MO 
Lynn Robey, Dexter, MO 
Joseph Rogg, St. Louis, MO 
Marceline Saphian, Chesterfield, MO          Award of Excellence 
Jennifer Sarti, St. Louis, MO 
Michael Burke Seltzer, Carbondale, IL 
Mary Beth Shaw, Wildwood, MO 
Lisa Sisley-Blinn, O’Fallon, MO 
Brian D. Smith, St. Louis, MO 
Kate Snyder, Creve Coeur, MO 
Robin Street-Morris, St. Louis, MO
William Turner, St. Louis, MO 
Mike Turney, Arnold, MO 
Andy Van Der Tuin, Olivette, MO 
Ron Vivod, Collinsville, IL 
Erica Wagner, Chesterfield, MO 
Teresa Wang, St. Louis, MO 
Vivian Waters, St. Peters, MO 
Jennifer Weigel, St. Louis, MO 
Rebecka Wyrde, St. Louis, MO 
David M. Yates, Edwardsville, IL 
Barbara Zucker, St. Louis, MO


Pictured: Award of Excellence recipients (top to bottom, left to right): Marceline Saphian, Carol Corey, Mike Miller, William D'Sousa, Marie Bannerot McInerney.


During this exhibition, Art Saint Louis is hosting free Meet the Artists Saturdays wherein featured artists from “Art St. Louis XXVII, The Exhibition” and "Artists' Day at Circus Flora" will be on-hand in the Gallery to greet visitors and discuss their works in the show. In addition, some artists will be presenting a demo of their work & techniques. These very casual events are free & open to the public.

Saturday, October 29, 2011
10 a.m.-1 p.m. Micah Liesenfeld
1-4 p.m. Lynn Robey

Saturday, November 5
1-4 p.m. Tim Eberhardt

Saturday, November 12
10 a.m.-1 p.m. Micah Liesenfeld
12-4 p.m. Fabrizio Passanisi

Saturday, November 19
10 a.m.-1 p.m. Andrew Dobson
10 a.m.-1 p.m. Darnell Malone

Saturday, December 3
10 a.m.-1 p.m. Barbara Zucker
1-4 p.m. Jennfier Sarti

Saturday, December 10
10 a.m.-1 p.m. Michael J. Anthony
1-4 p.m. Vivian Waters

Saturday, December 17
10 a.m.-1 p.m. Bob Rickert
1-4 p.m. Cary Horton

Some of the artworks featured in
Art St. Louis XXVII, The Exhibition

Mike Turney, Arnold, MO. When We Were Kings. 2010. Mixed Media Found Object Assemblage, 12.75”x6.25”x6”. $500.

Cary Horton, Shrewsbury, MO. Devotion. 2010. Black & White Photograph, 24”x29”. $400.

Dominic Finocchio, St. Louis, MO. Studio Fiction. 2011. Oil on Canvas, 36.5”x48.5”. $4,000.
Debbie Corson, Kirkwood, MO. Girl in Red Dress. 2011. Digital Photograph, 20”x16”. $200.
Bonnie Murray, St. Louis, MO. As the Crows Fly #2. 2011. Collagraph on Paper, 21”x27". $250.
Maria N. Boehm, Hillsboro, MO. Nicholas. 2011. Photograph, 14”x18”. $180.

Davide Prete, St. Louis, MO.Table/Sculpture. 2011. Forged Steel, Stainless Steel, Glass, 2’6”x4’. $2,500.

Pat Owoc, St. Louis, MO. Return. 2009. Mixed Media Textile, 50.5”x52”. $3,500.
Robin Street-Morris, St. Louis, MO. Blue Hour I. 2011. Watercolor, Pastel on 300lb Hot Press Paper, 15”x23”. $775.
Brian D. Smith, St. Louis, MO. SACO. 2011. Oil on Canvas, 58”x52”. $5,200.
Cathie Crawford, Peoria, IL. Resonant Reflection II. 2010. Color Reduction Woodcut Print on Paper, 20”x25”. $360.
M.J. Goerke, St. Louis, MO. Slam. 2010. Altered Book, Mixed Media, 8”x11”x4.” $300.


Art Saint Louis is FREE and open to the public. Gallery hours are Monday 10 a.m.-4 p.m., Tuesday through Friday 10 a.m.-5 p.m., and Saturday 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Gallery closed Sundays, holidays and between exhibits.


Art Saint Louis is easily accessible by MetroLink. The Convention Center Station is located at 6th Street & Washington Avenue and is mere steps away from our front door. There are several parking garages and lots near Art Saint Louis, for specific locations, download a Downtown Parking Guide here

Events, exhibition themes, dates, jurors & gallery hours are subject to change. For the most up-to-date information, phone 314/241-4810 or email  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . For additional information on upcoming exhibitions, click here. For downloadable entry forms for our upcoming juried exhibits click here.

Art Saint Louis programs & operations are made possible with the support of Whitaker Foundation, Regional Arts Commission, Missouri Arts Council, Emerson, EdwardJones, and the Arthur & Helen Baer Foundation.



Art Saint Louis │ 1223 Pine Street │ St. Louis, MO │ 63103 │ p: 314-241-4810 │          

                                T Rex logo sm